Thanksgiving

A day dedicated to counting our blesses. When we take stock of our harvest. When we celebrate our wins. When we take a breather from the happenings of life to focus on the good. I have a lot of things for which I am grateful. For starters, I am grateful for you.

You go out of your way to leave consideration, support, and love. It’s hard to ask for anything else. I have a unique affection for you who takes out time to leave a private message in my inbox. Being able to talk (or write) our way into a connection has been rewarding on so many levels. I get to see things from a wider and deeper perspective. And, best of all, I get to offer the help I can give. I am grateful.

I am thankful for the opportunity to write. It’s been the most instrinsic rewarding investment of my time. It is the best way to think. For a while I found it difficult to bring myself to write. Even in the the privacy of my diary. The thoughts that someone will get to know me – the real me – distorted my thinking. I was afraid. I denied myself the truth. It was a case of having a glimpse of a truth and finding it difficult to face it. Writing helped me face the truth. And the truth has a way of setting one free. I am grateful.

I feel grateful for all I have. Though it would take an impossible dose of time and energy to name them all.

A bird is chirping on an avocado tree outside. I hear it through the openings of a window. Rays of yellow sunlight fall on my bed. Particles float in brownian style within the rays. A warm sensation swells within me. A sense of gratitude. It pulls in air through my nose. The air lingers with an aroma of a delicacy being whipped up in another room by people who I care for and who care for me. When I am done writing this I will go on to eat this delicacy. I put my phone down. Fill a short glass with water from a glass jug. And I drink to calm my watering tongue. With just these it’s more than easy to say thank you.


 

You are Awesome.

IMG_20150330_232508
Photo Source: http://www.designinspiration.com

 

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

