Life

The Beauty of Time: Souls, Blackholes, and Atoms

The universe is astronomical. There are atoms. There are super black holes. And there are souls.

Depiction of a black hole surrounded by billions of star atoms in the heavens where souls were said to exist. Photo Source: en.wikipedia.org

Depiction of a black hole surrounded by billions of star atoms in the heavens where souls were said to exist. Photo Source: en.wikipedia.org

I can see an atom. I can point to a black hole. I can talk about souls.

Thing is, things we talk about only carry weight only for so long. We want to be able to see them. We want to be able to point to them. In so doing, we get to know them. Otherwise, what we know of them fade.

A version of me in 1015 would have laughed at the notion of an atom. A black hole would have simply been a hole that is black (not some ginormous entity in space). A prayer may have been the most valuable thing because I would have wanted my soul to float to heaven or, if I was so much of a sinner, cleansed in purgatory.

But a 2015 version of me knows what an atom is, he understands the existence of black holes, and sometimes, scuffs at the idea of a soul.

And therein lies the problem; defining the totality of what one knows.

A soul may stay unobserved during my life time. To say it doesn’t exist would be fallacious. The things I do not see, sense or understand need not be written off. I need to wait for understanding or simply look closer.

The End.


This post is written in acknowledgement of All Hallows Day. It is dedicated to those who once lived.

You are Awesome.

Standard

Leave a Reply

