Does God Exist?

Most young gay men question the existence of God. I know I did. The Holy Book doesn’t paint the gay picture in the best light (read Lev 18, Rom 1 and the rest).

Photo Source: www.doesgodexist.net
Photo Source: http://www.doesgodexist.net

As a christain, It’s very difficult to marry the faith and carrying the “abominable desire” while having utterly no drive from the “acceptable one”. It’s a deep struggle.

I think there is a psychological maturity that comes with asking questions, and when you come made with something “abominable” stitched to the fabric of your existence, normal questions like “what is the purpose of my life?” become trifles and are readily replaced with persumably pressing ones such as: “why was I designed this way?”

When answers don’t come (as it is in most cases), you begin to ask perhaps the boldest question of them all: Does God even exist?

It’s difficult to question an “unquestionable” God. There is a level of discomfort it brings. A kind of fear; of the unknown, of breaking a rule, of illiciting anger from an Almighty.

But, I have long considered the possibility that all I have come to know have not been my own; the consideration of information cultured in me and made to be my own by outside forces.

I wondered who God would prefer after I read a quote by Thomas Jefferson. He said:

“Question with boldness even the existence of a God; because, if there be a God, he must more approve of the homage of reason, than that of blind-folded fear”

Would He [God] prefer a man who asks reasonable questions or a man who exhibits irrational fear? Or, would he take the both as they are?

For me, the closest truth that can explain the perfect design of this world is the story of the existence of God – a Creator.

Although, I sometimes think human beings are the aberration (an aberration to the perfection). Other times, i think we are still growing; growing to reach the perfection that is God.

But, mostly, I think it’s healthy to ask questions. Question everything.

4 thoughts on “Does God Exist?

Add yours

  1. Urhmm, I don’t know how to really say this but I love you. I really love you. I love ur blog ,the way u write, ur experiences and the fact that u question God (I do that too !!!!!! and i thought i am crazy. i guess am not the only one! !!! hehehe). thank you for being urself.

    you are awesome! !!!!!

    p.s I shared ur blog with a friend and he loved it and he said hiiiiii with loads of love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

